Guldbagge Award categories

When the Guldbagge Swedish film awards were first presented in 1964 there were only four categories – Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Actor. Since then, a number of new awards have gradually been introduced.

In June 2011 the board of the Swedish Film Institute decided to adopt new regulations for the Guldbagge awards. The board has acceded to the wishes of the film industry for more awards through the inception of seven further award categories: Best Editing, Best Costume Design, Best Sound, Best Make-up & Hair, Best Music, Best Production Design and Best Visual Effects. The three awards for Best Achievement will thereby disappear. Together with the Lifetime Achievement award, there will now be a total of 19 Guldbagge awards. 

Awards are currently presented in the following categories:

  • Best Picture
  • Best Director
  • Best Actress in a Leading Role
  • Best Actor in a Leading Role
  • Best Actress in a Supporting Role
  • Best Actor in a Supporting Role
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Documentary Film
  • Best Editing
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Sound
  • Best Make-up/Hair
  • Best Music
  • Best Production Design
  • Best Visual Effects
  • Best Foreign language Film
  • Best Short Film
  • Lifetime Achievement Award


 Previously in the history of the Guldbagge the following awards have also existed:

  • The Special Achievement Award (1964-1987). Replaced by Creative Achievement Award.
  • Creative Achievement Award (1988-1999). Replaced by Best Achievement Award.
  • Best Achievement in the professional areas of film editing, scenography, costume, makeup, special effects and animation (2000-2006) 
  • Best Achievement in the professional areas of sound technology, mixing and score composition (2000-2006)
  • Best Achievement (three awards) for achievement in professional areas not covered by their own Guldbagge (2007-2010)

Film years and time scales for presentation of awards

The Guldbagge ceremony is held at the beginning of each year, and awards are presented for films that have premiered during the previous year. In other words, a Guldbage presented at the ceremony held on 25 January 2010 relates to the 2009 film year.

Earlier in the history of the Guldbagge there were so-called 'broken film years', i.e. films years that did not coincide with the calendar year, but ran instead from July until June the following year. During the period of broken film years, the Guldbagge ceremony was held during the autumn. The last broken film year occurred in 1982/83.

Awards presented at the January 1985 Guldbagge ceremony were in respect of 18 months of film production owing to the changeover from the broken calendar year to the standard calendar year during 1984. 


Published 07/01/2010   Changed 02/01/2013